If you are inspected by Oregon OSHA and receive a citation, you have rights and responsibilities. Citations are issued via certified mail and must be signed for. If a citation is not deliverable via certified mail, they will be hand delivered. To make a public records request, call 503-378-3272 or 800-922-2689, or use this online form.
You must post the citation where employees can readily see for 3 days or until all items are corrected, whichever is longer. See our Posting Requirements page for more information.
Your penalties are due 20 days after receipt of the citation. When appealing the citation or item which holds a penalty, penalty payments are not due until after the appeals process is complete and final order is made. These penalties are to be paid to:
Please include the inspection number and return a copy of the invoice with payment.
You are required to complete and mail the Letter of Corrective Action to the appropriate field office on or before the latest correction date on the citation.
The law prohibits discrimination by an employer against an employee for filing a complaint or speaking with representatives of Oregon OSHA.
In the case that you are unable to correct a violation by the final abatement date on the citation, you have the right to request an extension. See instructions on requesting Extensions.
You have the right to appeal any item, monetary amount, or the entire citation. See our Appeals page to find out about appeals process, or go right to our online Appeal a Citation or Request an Extension form.
Employees have the right to object to any abatement date set for a violation if he/she believes the date is unreasonable. This must be postmarked within 20 calendar days of the receipt of the citation by the employer.
All citations, regardless of status, are posted on Federal OSHA's web site 30 days after the citation issuance date. Please visit www.osha.gov to review this information.