
   

 

Employer and Employee Costs 
 
Premiums are not the only costs to employers (and employees) for workers' compensation 
coverage. Two other substantial costs are premium assessments and the Workers' Benefit Fund 
assessment.  Premium assessments are paid by insurers but are recoverable from employers. The 
Workers' Benefit Fund assessment (cents-per-hour) also includes employee contributions. 
 

Table 5. Premium Assessments and Workers' Benefit Fund Assessment 

Calendar years 2006 through 2009 

    

  2006 
1
 2007 

1
 2008 

1
 2009 

1
   

Premium Assessments $51,426,701 $43,136,194 $41,421,212 $32,787,315 
 
 

    

Workers' Benefit Fund Assessment $83,006,739 $77,134,579 $74,999,575 $69,757,505   
    

Total $134,433,440 $120,270,773 $116,420,787 $102,544,820   

 Note: The Workers' Benefit Fund assessment rate (cents per hour) amounted to 3.0 in calendar year 2006, 2.8 in calendar 

year 2007, 2008, and 2009.  The Workers' Compensation Premium assessment rate (percent) amounted to 5.5 in 

calendar year 2006, 4.6 in calendar year 2007, 2008 and 2009. 

1.  The calendar year 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009 Premium Assessment dollar amounts are net of the SAIF 

Medical Malpractice Reinsurance Program credit amount of $5.6 million, $5.2 million, $5.5 million, and  

$3.7 million  respectively, which was utilized under the provisions of Chapter 781, Oregon Laws 2003 (House 

Bill 3630) and Chapter 574, Oregon Laws 2007 (SB 183). 

Source: Based on data from quarterly financial statements produced by Fiscal and Business Services,  

Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services.  Last Update 4/2010 

 

 
Source: Research & Analysis Section, Information Management Division, Oregon Dept. of Consumer & Business Services.   
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Figure 15. Oregon WBF (Cents-Per-Hour) Assessment Rate
1991-2011



   

Last updated 11/2010 

 
Premium assessments fund those operations of the Department of Consumer and Business 
Services related to workers' compensation. A declining portion of assessment revenues is spent 
on rehabilitation programs for injured workers, including reimbursement of time-loss (TTD) 
payments while they are in authorized training programs. 
 
The Workers' Benefit Fund assessment was formerly referred to as cents per day. From 1984 
through 1994, this assessment, set by the Legislature, at so many cents per workday -- roughly 
half from the employee and half from the employer. Most of the revenue funded the Retroactive 
Reserve, which supplements older statutory benefits to bring them near present benefit levels. 
The remainder was used for two statutory funds, the Workers with Disability Reserve (formerly 
the Handicapped Workers' Reserve) and the Reemployment Assistance Reserve (formerly 
Workers' Reemployment Reserve).  Effective January 1, 1988, two cents from the employer were 
added to the cents-per-day total to fund the Reopened Claims Reserve.  On January 1, 1995, the 
contribution changed to a cents-per-worker-per-hour assessment that was allocated almost 
entirely to the Retroactive Reserve, except for a small contribution to the Reemployment 
Assistance Reserve.  As of January 1, 1996, the entire contribution was put into the new 
Workers' Benefit Fund which is then distributed to the various reserves and other programs as 
needed. 
 

 
Source: Research & Analysis Section, Information Management Division, Oregon Dept. of Consumer & Business Services.   
Last updated 11/2010 
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Figure 16. Oregon Workers' Compensation Premium 
Assessment Rate

1985-2011



   

 
Source: Research & Analysis Section, Information Management Division, Oregon Dept. of Consumer & Business Services.   
Last updated 11/2010 
 
Figure 17 shows the total cost (per $100 of payroll) of workers' compensation coverage to the 
average Oregon employer. Obviously, the bulk of the costs go toward the insurance premium. 
The premium dollar amount shown here is the fully-loaded rate as derived in the latest Oregon 
Workers' Compensation Premium Rate Ranking Report, which uses 50 NCCI class codes 
(representing roughly two-thirds of the total Oregon payroll) to calculate an overall average rate 
faced by Oregon employers. As discussed above, premium assessments and the WBF assessment 
are additional costs faced by employers. These two amounts are also shown in Figure 17 for each 
year.  
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Figure 17. Total Loaded Premium, Assessment, and 
Contribution Paid 
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